What is so "new" about fashion trends?

When I was younger, my mom would always tell me that fashion trends are cyclical. One minute something is in, the next minute it is out, and in another hour the trend is back in again. Now it is to the point where I laugh ever time I hear the phrase “new trend,” but I digress. Even though my mom was older and wiser, I still did not believe her on the whole cyclical trend thing. (Adolescents can be so naïve`) Now that I am a little older, and a little wiser, I have had the opportunity to experience what my mom was talking about. This season and some of last, I have seen some trends that I thought would never, EVER, comeback. For example, Denim on Denim trend. I never thought denim on denim would make a comeback because at one point it was part of the fashion ten commandments: Thou shalt not wear denim on denim. Today I am going to list a few trends that have made a repeat performance within my lifetime.

The Jumpsuit

Photo Credit: keepthebeat.mango.com

I never thought in a million years that the jumpsuit would make a repeat return. I remember in my elementary school days rushing to the bathroom and quickly trying to take the darn thing off, so I could go potty.

Wedges

I loved wedges in middle school and I still love them now. I am really regretting throwing away my nude colored wedges.

Tarzan style shirts or dress

The Tarzan style still gets an eh from me, but it does look cute on maxi dresses.

Genie pants, or MC Hammer pants to me

These pants look a lot better now then they did back then. Can’t touch this.

These are just a few trends that I noticed. What are the fashion trends that made a repeat performance in your lifetime? What trends would you like to comeback? What trends would like to die and stay dead?

  1. #1 by Kelly on July 2, 2010 - 1:25 pm

    Some of them should have never been trends in the first place, much less been revived 😉

    • #2 by Shana on July 2, 2010 - 9:32 pm

      lol. If Starter jackets make a comeback, then I will be done with fashion.

  2. #3 by Justin on July 3, 2010 - 1:29 am

    This is so true! I am beginning to think “new trends” don’t even exist.

Leave a Reply

