It is ok to take risks

Can we say throwback, but not much has changed from then to now.

I have to keep telling myself this all the time.  When it comes to fashion and putting clothes together, I am always on the safe side. I never really step outside the box because I always have that fear that I will look crazy and/or become a fashion victim.  More and more as I become emerged into fashion, I am slowly becoming more comfortable with the fact that I will have to take some risks.  I am not going to go out and get all Lady Gaga on you, but  I will start by buying a few items, here and there, that I would normally bypass.

I know this may sound funny, but polyvore.com has helped me out a lot when it comes to taking risks. When I first started playing with polyvore.com, I realized that my collages were boring. The pictures would be neatly organized, and the outfits and accessories would be lined up and spaced out.  Once I took my first risk, I started to become more pleased with the outfits and collages that I made. When it comes to fashion, take risks and have fun.

How do you feel about taking risks when it comes to fashion? Have you ever taken a fashion risk that was successful? Have you ever taken a fashion risk that was an #epicfail?

  1. #1 by anwa on June 24, 2010 - 1:22 pm

    I love to put together outfits that I otherwise wouldn’t wear — it’s fun and kind of, well, artsy. Usually I get mocking looks from the men in my family, but often when I’m out the ensembles will get compliments 🙂

    • #2 by Shana on June 24, 2010 - 1:41 pm

      How do you start to put the outfits together? I try to start with an artsy statement piece, but then I come across a few problems: 1) I do not have to many artsy statement pieces, and 2) Well, just one, but that is a very big one.

      I recently made the decision to invade my boyfriend’s closet and see if I can hop on the boyfriend trend. My original reasoning was because I like the trend, however, I do not have the funds to buy the jeans, blazer, etc. Now I will just take it as an opportunity to take a risk and wear it out.

Leave a Reply

