Denim on Denim is a trend???

Yes folks, the biggest no- no ever, well at least of my lifetime, is now a trend. Denim on Denim has been spotted on the hottest runways and on the hottest celebrities. With that being said, I just cannot, and let me reiterate, cannot support the  denim on denim trend.  The new rule to wearing denim on denim is that it can be done, however, the denim must be of different washes. For example, if you wear a dark wash jean, then you must pair it with a lighter wash denim shirt, or vice versa. To be honest, I do not know why this is a trend because I only saw it successfully put together once, and that was on a Dolce and Gabbana runway, displayed in the photo above. Other times it looked a hot mess, on the runway and on the celebrities.  Why fashion industry? Why? Through all our ups and downs, no to denim on denim was the one thing that connected us and made us one.  What’s the next trend… muffin tops? I am going to have to see a little more success stories before I can hop on the denim on denim trend.

How do you feel about denim on denim being a trend? Have you tried it? If so, were you successful?

  1. #1 by anwa on June 13, 2010 - 9:21 pm

    If you think that’s bad, apparently tights-over-boxers is now a trend as well. I don’t have denim shirts, but I’ve pulled of jeans and a destroyed denim jacket before….

    • #2 by Shana on June 13, 2010 - 10:01 pm

      Tights-over-boxers???? I am trying to picture how that would look. Really… tights-over-boxers. I will definitely google it. I guess my whole thing with denim on denim is that I have been told that it was a no-no for so long… in addition, a couple of designers and stylists attempt at denim on denim ended in an epic fail.

Leave a Reply

