An organized closet is a happy closet

My mission, and I choose to accept it, is to have an awesomely, organized closets. I am just waiting for the day that I my clothes will transport from the coat closet to an organized, neat freak approved closet.  Yes, I did say coat closet; needless to say, my boyfriend and I have been in this constant battle for closet space and I lost.  Even though my clothes are in the coat closet, I try my hardest to keep the clothes I do have organized. They are organized by style, business vs. casual, and color; I try to follow the color wheel closely. I even keep my boyfriend closet organized, or at least try to.

An organized closet has its benefits. One of those benefits is that you can clearly see what you have in your closet. When you have a clear view of what is in your closet, you are more likely to wear all of your clothes in the closet. My boyfriend would always complain about how he didn’t have any clothes and that he needs to buy clothes. Well, when I organized his closet space, it gave him the opportunity to see what he has in his closet to wear. All of the clothes are right there in plain view, so if he has to buy anything it will be something different and not a repeat. Another benefit of having an organized closet is that you can see the clothes you do not wear and give them away. My rule of thumb about clothes is this, “If you have not worn an article of clothing, in your closet, in over one-two years, then it is time for you to donate it.” I am pretty sure we all have a pair of jeans or a shirt in our closet that we are just waiting to get back into.  I use to fluctuate in weight a lot, so I would hold to my clothes for years. However, when it came time for me to fit in the clothes, the clothes would be out of style or just looked worn out, so I now I make sure that I donate my clothes every chance that I get.  An organized closet is a happy closet and a happy clothes owner.  I think that I am going to put my dream closet on my vision board because for right now it is just a dream. Try organizing your closet and see what treasures you have stashed away.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

