My foundation Journey

My foundation journey started some, yes some, years ago. I can honestly say that I was a late bloomer when it came to make-up my first time purchasing and wearing make-up was my Senior year for prom. Until then, I never wore make-up unless it was for a dance recital and even then someone had to apply it on for me. While I was in college, I wore make-up but only to parties and special events, which didn’t happen that often, so my true foundation journey didn’t start until last year. Last year is when I discovered Make-up Gurus on on youtube . After watching all the things you can do with make-up I instantly fell in love with the stuff. Now I am reminiscing and sharing my foundation journey.

My first foundation was a Mary Kay foundation that left a white cast over my face. I really didn’t know any better at the time, so I wore it. I learned my lesson once I saw pictures of myself and it looked like I had white mask on my face.  I, then, switched to Maybelline liquid foundation which is on the far left of the picture. I do not remember anything about that foundation, except that it was very heavy on my face.

When I was in college, I had a friend that wore make-up all the time and her face always looked fabulous, so since she knew what she was doing I decided to ask her “what foundation do you use?” She responded with Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse. O_O Now this was around the time Dream Matte Mousse was first introduced, so the fact that a drugstore foundation could look that good was unthinkable. When she told me that I ran to my local drugstore immediately and bought the foundation. I must say I really loved, still love, the stuff. It was so light, especially compared to the liquid foundation. Till this day I still use it on those hot summer days.Even though I had dream matte mousse, I was still looking for a foundation that would give me that beat down, OMG look, so I went to MAC and bought Studio Tech foundation.

At the time I did not realize that my switch from drugstore to department store make-up would leave me with another set of problems. Now I had to find the right color for my skin. (See Dream Matte Mouse only came in like two colors for women of color). To make a long story short, I really didn’t like it for my oily skin and I didn’t know what the heck I was doing with that stuff. As time moved on I switched to Studio Fix Fluid because Erin Scandalous, from Scandalous Beauty, suggested it for oily skin on one of her blogs. I bought it and I enjoyed it. That is until I realized that I had the wrong undertone. I got an NW when I probably should have gotten an NC. I didn’t realize it before because I knew nothing about undertone. Heck, I thought that if the colors matched then I was good. So, instead of buying another MAC foundation. I decided to buy MUFE High Definition foundation. That stuff was the truth. I got the coverage of the MAC Fix fluid, however, it was as light as dream matte mousse. I was on a high with that  foundation… that is until I applied it on my face the other day and when I got half of my face done, I clearly saw the difference in the undertone. Why?!!!!! Since I cannot afford to keep buying and trying different foundation, I decided to work with what I have. I must say that I am please, for now, and at the end of the day that is all that matters, right?.

What was your foundation journey like? Have you found the right foundation for you or are you still looking? If applicable, how did you come across your perfect match?

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

